2022 FCS championship: Bracket, date, time, location, TV channel, history

2022 FCS championship: Bracket, date, time, location, TV channel, history

One hundred thirty NCAA member institutions sponsor Division I Football Championship Subdivision teams. Those teams compete each season to make it into the 24-team playoff and the FCS National Championship game in Frisco, Texas.

Here’s a quick guide to the 2022 FCS Championship, including the schedule, TV network and format for the postseason:

How can I be updated on the 2022 FCS Championship?

We’re providing coverage of the FCS playoffs from start to finish, including the selection show and leading up to the 2022 FCS Championship game on NCAA.com.


When is the 2022 FCS Championship Game?

The 2022 FCS Championship Game date is Sunday, January 8 at 2 pm ET. It will feature the winning team from each semifinal. The title game is scheduled to air on the ABC.

MORE: ABC to broadcast 2022 FCS championship game from Frisco

Where is the FCS Championship Game?

The FCS Championship Game will be played in Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas. It will be the 10th time the FCS Championship Game has been played in Toyota Stadium and the 13th time in Frisco.

How are FCS playoff teams selected?

The NCAA Division I Football Championship provides a field of 24 teams to compete in a single-elimination tournament. Of the 24 teams, conference champions will receive automatic qualifications with the remaining best teams being selected on an at-large basis by the Division I Football Championship Committee.

The top eight teams in the 24-team bracket for the championship are seeded and receive first-round byes.

Team pairings are determined according to geographical proximity. Teams from the same conference will not be paired for first-round games or for second-round games when both teams are playing their first games of the championship (except for teams from the same conference that did not play against each other during the regular season such teams may play each other in the first and second round).

2022 FCS bracket

BRACKET: See the complete 2022 FCS playoff bracket

When are FCS playoff teams selected?

Teams for the FCS playoffs will be selected on Sunday, Nov. 20, 2022. The selection show is scheduled to air Sunday, Nov. 20 at 12:30 pm ET on ESPNU.

Click or tap here for more selection show updates

What are the current FCS rankings?

Click or tap here to view the latest FCS rankings, which will be updated throughout the season.

Who are the past FCS champions?

Here are the previous winners of the FCS Championship Game, which started in the 1978 season.

2021 North Dakota State Matt Entz 38-10 Montana State Frisco, TX
2020 Sam Houston K.C. Keeler 23-21 south dakota state Frisco, TX
2019 North Dakota State Matt Entz 28-20 James Madison Frisco, TX
2018 North Dakota State Chris Klieman 38-24 Eastern Washington Frisco, TX
2017 North Dakota State Chris Klieman 17-13 James Madison Frisco, TX
2016 James Madison mike houston 28-14 Youngstown State Frisco, TX
2015 North Dakota State Chris Klieman 37-10 Jacksonville State Frisco, TX
2014 North Dakota State Chris Klieman 29-27 Illinois State Frisco, TX
2013 North Dakota State Craig Bohl 35-7 Towson Frisco, TX
2012 North Dakota State Craig Bohl 39-13 Sam Houston State Frisco, TX
2011 North Dakota State Craig Bohl 17-6 Sam Houston State Frisco, TX
2010 Eastern Washington Handsome Baldwin 20-19 Delaware Frisco, TX
2009 Villanova Andy Talley 23-21 Montana Chattanooga, Tenn.
2008 richmond mike london 24-7 Montana Chattanooga, Tenn.
2007 Appalachian State jerry moore 49-21 Delaware Chattanooga, Tenn.
2006 Appalachian State jerry moore 28-17 Massachusetts Chattanooga, Tenn.
2005 Appalachian State jerry moore 21-16 UNITED Chattanooga, Tenn.
2004 James Madison Mickey Matthews 31-21 Montana Chattanooga, Tenn.
2003 Delaware K.C. Keeler 40-0 Colgate Chattanooga, Tenn.
2002 Western Kentucky Jack Harbaugh 34-14 McNeese State Chattanooga, Tenn.
2001 Montana Joe Glenn 13-6 Furman Chattanooga, Tenn.
2000 Georgia Southern Paul Johnson 27-25 Montana Chattanooga, Tenn.
1999 Georgia Southern Paul Johnson 59-24 Youngstown State Chattanooga, Tenn.
1998 Massachusetts Mark Whipple 55-43 Georgia Southern Chattanooga, Tenn.
1997 Youngstown State Jim Tressel 10-9 McNeese State Chattanooga, Tenn.
1996 Marshall Bob Pruett 49-29 Montana Huntington, W.Va.
1995 Montana Don Read 22-20 Marshall Huntington, W.Va.
1994 Youngstown State Jim Tressel 28-14 Boise State Huntington, W.Va.
1993 Youngstown State Jim Tressel 17-5 Marshall Huntington, W.Va.
1992 Marshall Jim Donnan 31-28 Youngstown State Huntington, W.Va.
1991 Youngstown State Jim Tressel 25-17 Marshall Statesboro, Ga.
1990 Georgia Southern Tim Stowers 36-13 Nevada Statesboro, Ga.
1989 Georgia Southern Erk Russell 37-34 Stephen F. Austin* Statesboro, Ga.
1988 Furman Jimmy Satterfield 17-12 Georgia Southern Pocatello, Idaho
1987 Louisiana-Monroe pat collins 43-42 Marshall Pocatello, Idaho
1986 Georgia Southern Erk Russell 48-21 Arkansas State Tacoma, Wash.
1985 Georgia Southern Erk Russell 44-42 Furman Tacoma, Wash.
1984 Montana State Dave Arnold 19-6 Louisiana Tech Charleston, SC
1983 Southern Illinois Rey Dempsey 43-7 western carolina Charleston, SC
1982 Eastern Kentucky Roy Kidd 17-14 Delaware Wichita Falls, Texas
nineteen eighty one Idaho State Dave Kragthorpe 34-23 Eastern Kentucky Wichita Falls, Texas
1980 Boise State Jim Criner 31-29 Eastern Kentucky Sacramento, Calif.
1979 Eastern Kentucky Roy Kidd 30-7 Lehigh Orlando, Fla.
1978 Florida A&M Rudy Hubbard 35-28 Massachusetts Wichita Falls, Texas

* — Stephen F. Austin’s participation in 1989 championship vacated.

College Football Playoff rankings predictions: What the CFP top 25 could look like in Week 13

Week 13’s College Football Playoff rankings will be revealed at on Tuesday, Nov. 22. Here’s how the top 25 could look.


FCS playoff bracket: Predictions, picks for every FCS playoff game and round

With the complete field released and the first round starting on Saturday, Nov. 26, there’s no better time to predict every round and game for the 2022 tournament.


2022 NCAA Division I Football Championship Field Announced

The field of 24 teams competing for the 2022 NCAA Division I Football Championship was announced today by the NCAA Division I Football Championship Committee.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *