2022 MW Football Weekly Release - Nov. 7

2022 MW Football Weekly Release – Nov. 14


  • Dating back to the 2019 season, the Mountain West has won 19 games against autonomous-5 opponents, including 16 against the Pac-12. This is the most wins in that time span amongst all non-autonomous-5 conferences.
  • In the past 18 years, the Mountain West has been the top non-autonomous-5 conference 10 times and second five times.
  • The Mountain West produced the first non-automatic-qualifying FBS team into a BCS bowl game (Utah – 2005 Fiesta Bowl) and into the College Football Playoff (Boise State – 2014 Fiesta Bowl).
  • After Wyoming’s double-overtime victory over Tulsa on Sept. 3, and Air Force’s win against Navy on Oct. 1, the Mountain West now has a 17-11 record against opponents from the American Athletic Conference.
  • Nevada senior safety Bentlee Sanders is a semifinalist for the 2022 Paycom Jim Thorpe Award, the only DB from outside the Autonomous-5 to earn a spot on the list.
  • Nevada senior running back Toa Taua has rushed for 3,757 yards in his career, the fourth-most among active FBS players. Taua is just 36 yards shy of tying for fifth-most all-time in league history.
  • Nevada senior place-kicker Brandon Talton set the Mountain West record for career field goals made on Nov. 12 vs. Boise State, kicking No. 65 in the second quarter.
  • San Jose State senior linebacker Kyle Harmon has racked up 412 total tackles in his career, the fifth-most all-time in MW history. Wyoming’s Logan Wilson (2016-19) sits in fourth place on the list at 421 career tackles.
  • Fresno State senior quarterback Jake Haener has thrown at least one touchdown pass in 25 consecutive games, beginning on Oct. 24, 2019. This is the third-longest stretch in Conference history. Carson Strong (Nevada) and Derek Carr (Fresno State) hold the league record with a touchdown pass in 26 straight games.
  • Over the last 18 seasons, the MW has captured the Bowl Challenge Cup five times and owns the third-best win percentage in bowl games among the 10 FBS conferences (.583), trailing only the SEC (.621) and Sun Belt (. 593).


Air Force (7-3), Boise State (7-3), Fresno State (6-4), San Diego State (6-4), San Jose State (6-3) and Wyoming (7-3) have all earned bowl eligibility.

  • Air Force is bowl eligible for the 13th time in 16 seasons.
  • The Broncos are bowl eligible for the 25th consecutive season, the third-longest active streak nationally, trailing just Ohio State and Georgia.
  • Fresno State is bowl eligible for the second-consecutive season.
  • San Diego State is bowl eligible for the 13th straight season.
  • SJSU head coach Brent Brennan is the first Spartan head coach to go to two bowl games since Claude Gilbert in 1986 & 1987.
  • The Cowboys are postseason bound for the sixth time in seven season.





Friday, Nov. 18 San Diego State at New Mexico* 7:45 pm MT FS1
Saturday, Nov. 19 Boise State at Wyoming* 5 p.m. MT CBS Sports Network
Saturday, Nov. 19 Colorado State at Air Force* 7 p.m. MT FS2
Saturday, Nov. 19 San Jose State at Utah State* 7:45 pm MT FS1
Saturday, Nov. 19 Fresno State at Nevada* 7:30 p.m. PT CBS Sports Network
Saturday, Nov. 19 UNLV at Hawaii* 6 p.m. Spectrum/Team1Sports App

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *