DP, a triptych of competitions in Spain begins

DP, a triptych of competitions in Spain begins

With the Acciona Open de España presented by Madrid, scheduled from 6 to 9 October, the triptych of the Spanish races of the DP World Tour begins, which will continue with the Estrella Damm NA Andalucía Masters (13-16 October) and with the Mallorca Golf Open (20-23 October).

Open de España, schedule

Hosting the 95th edition of the Iberian National Open, born in 1912, will be the Club de Campo Villa de Madrid, near Madrid, where six Italian players will compete: Edoardo Molinari, Andrea Pavan, Renato Paratore, Nino Bertasio, Lorenzo Gagli and Filippo Cell.

The top five are looking for a good result that is in their strings, even in a fluctuating season, while Celli will be in his third pro race on the circuit where he has already shown his value with seventh place in August in the ISPS Handa World Invitational, when he was still an amateur.

Spotlights on the Spaniards Jon Rahm and Rafa Cabrera Bello, winners of the last three editions. Rahm, who scored in 2018 and 2019 (stop due to pandemic in 2020), has the opportunity to relaunch his prices after falling from first place, occupied in mid-March, to the current sixth in the World Ranking, while Cabrera Bello dreams of bis after the success in 2021.

The two will try to take the stage, but many players will be able to counter them, starting with some compatriots such as Adri Arnaus and Pablo Larrazabal, seasonal winners, Jorge Campillo and Alejandro Cañizares. In the field also the British Tommy Fleetwood and Oliver Wilson, the Finnish Mikko Korhonen, the South Africans Brandon Stone, Thriston Lawrence and Daniel Van Tonder, the Thais Kiradech Aphibarnrat and Jazz Janewattananond, the Chinese Ashun Wu and the Australian Min Woo Lee, younger brother by Minjee Lee, number four in the women’s world rankings.

The roll of honor of the tournament is signed by great champions such as the Spanish Severiano Ballesteros (three wins), the German Bernhard Langer (2), the American Arnold Palmer, the Australian Peter Thomson, the British Nick Faldo and Peter Alliss (2 ), the Scottish Colin Montgomerie and the Argentine Roberto De Vicenzo, to name a few.

Only one Italian on the top step of the podium, Francesco Molinari in 2012 (second in 2015, while Emanuele Canonica was runner up in 2002). The record of successes belongs to the Iberian Angel de la Torre with five between 1916 and 1925.

In the race, in addition to Rahm and Cabrera Bello, there will be five other past winners: the English James Morrison (2015), the French Raphael Jacquelin (2013), the South African Thomas Aiken (2011), the Iberian Alvaro Quiros ( 2010) and the Dane Thomas Bjorn (1998), vice captain of Team Europe at the Ryder Cup 2023 at the Marco Simone Golf & Country Club in Guidonia Montecelio (Rome). The prize pool is 1,750,000 euros with the first coin of 297,500 euros.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *